January 8, 2014

  • Back at it and a new address

    I’m back at building after moving and after retiring.  Good to be working again.  I am working on  modification of the wing to eliminate the brace tube through the fuel tank.  I should have this ready soon. I also have a new web site with everything from the past and more listed.  Check it out at http://www.marty2plus2.com

    Here’s a direct link to my new builders log web site.

    Here’s a few shots of current work.  Lots more pictures at new web site.

     

    new xanga 1

    This is my new shop.  Both wings fit side-by-side and the fuselage is on it’s gear and wheels.  I can even hang one wing on the fuselage inside the shop.

     

    Here ‘s a shot of the tank bay without the cross brace.  The bottom will have a 1/8″ plywood sheer plate glued in place ant the top will have an aluminum cover screwed into nut plates located around the outside of the bay.

    new xanga 3

    Both root and first rib have been sheeted with 1/16″ mahogany ply and the edges built up for a gluing edge.  I also made a 3/4″ x 3/4″ center brace for gluing of the sheer plate ply.  Lots more on my web site.

     

    new xangs 4

    Tank straps ready to install

     

    new xanga 2

    Test fitting first two straps.

     

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *